RSS Feed

Love ‘Em & Leave ‘Em


There’s a stereotype that most traveling health professionals live up to (or at least the ones that I know), that we are non-committal. We are kind of spoiled that way- 3 months at a job then in most cases we can choose to stay or go. I chose to stay in Colorado Springs for 6 months instead of 3 for several reasons, but the biggest reason was because I absolutely loved my co-workers at Memorial Hospital (if you go to this link, at the bottom of the page is a video of some of my BFF  PTs, OTs, and STs!)

The best thing about working at Memorial as a traveler was that there is a large group of therapists to help with the orientation process and to build friendships. Sometimes it can be lonely or boring on the road, so it was nice to have so many new friends at work. I also felt like the therapy staff had a lot of individual strengths which made a good team (i.e. some therapists experienced with splinting or visual training, some had more neuro training, etc) and I ended up learning a lot.

The Awesome Arlette, PT & The Lovely Lisa, OT @ the Christmas Party

The staff really knows how to work as a team, and I always felt included even as a traveler. A couple of weeks ago, they even had a happy hour for me. I’m happy to say that no one cried in their beer (ok, maybe I did a little)!

Me & The Super OTs-Erin & Cindy!

The OT Travelers-We're the Love 'Em & Leave 'Em Type!

The Super Nice Meghin & Myself @ Happy Hour

This is the first assignment where I’ve had such a hard time leaving work, not just the staff, but also some of my patients. I know they are all in great hands. It was a hard decision to leave Colorado Springs & Memorial, but I’m sure I’ll be back to visit.  I really did love ’em and I wish I could take them all with me, work will not be as fun without this great group! In the mean time, any travelers looking for a fun rotation with a great Rehab Team, make your way to the Springs!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

2 responses »

  1. great job! were you in some of the video pictures?

    Reply
  2. Mary, you will be missed! I feel like we have both been at Memorial for the same amount of time…it isn’t the same without you. I’m glad to that you have a blog, so now I can live vicariously through you & your travels. Thanks for all you taught me. Keep in touch!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

