RSS Feed

How to Visit a Traveler


This past month, we’ve had quite a few visitors and began to prepare for our next move. At the end of March, my Mom & my nephew, Mickey came to visit for a few days. The first week in April, my best friend, Kellie & her husband Phil came to visit for a week-long birthday celebration (my husband & Kel’s birthdays are 4 days apart!).

When visiting a traveler:

1. Plan your trip near the end of your traveler friend’s time in that location. This way the traveler will know the area and be able to navigate the cool stuff.

Mom & Mickey with one of the locals

2. Be willing to sleep in small, cramped places, on the floor and share a bathroom.

Mickey enjoying the view

3. Save room in your suitcase for sheets, pillows, maybe even towels-no we don’t have extras!

At the base of the Manitou Incline, that summit up there is false!

Kel & I hiking down Barr Trail from the Incline summit

4. Be open to trying new food, new beer & wine, and seeing new things- that’s what the traveling lifestyle is all about!

Chad & Phil hiking down the dusty trail

5. Make sure you take EVERYTHING you brought back home with you, or it will likely go to Goodwill when we move again!

Me & the Husband with Kel & Phil @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre

We had a great time with all of our guests! Thanks to my great friend, Erin, my Mom & Mickey, & Kellie & Phil for taking the time and money to come visit us in Colorado Springs!! It was great to be able to share our traveling adventure with friends and family. We are currently booking floor space for visitors this summer when we will be in the Bay Area in CA!

Here’s a list of some of the fun stuff we did:

D’Vine Wine

Cave of The Winds

Red Rocks Amphitheatre

Manitou Springs and the Manitou Incline

Pioneer Museum

Shopping & Beer drinking in Boulder

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

3 responses »

  1. Your hair is looking fabulous, Mary!!! Y’all look so happy! Glad you got some quality time with Kel! I’m jealous….SF here I come!!!

    Reply
  2. Mary,
    I am so happy to have come across your blog! I have 5 applications in for graduate schools for OT all over the country. One of the major reason I chose OT is because of the traveling lifestyle it will allow me. Not to mention that the work is incredibly creative and people oriented. I cannot wait to be an OT! I have so many questions for you. What advice do you give to aspiring traveling OT’s? are there some specialties that are more desirable to employers than others? May I ask what your husband does for a living? 🙂 My BF is an IT professional thinking about becoming a computer programmer so he can work and travel too.
    Have you looked into traveling outside of the U.S.? Is it difficult to do so?
    Are the accommodations that they set you up with nice?
    I would just love to pick your brain! If you are in the San Diego area lets meet up!
    Brittany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

