RSS Feed

Sunny Days are Here Again


The sunny days are finally outweighing the cloudy days here in Colorado. I’ve been waiting for some of these 300 days of sunshine that Colorado brags about! Luckily, the weather was beautiful for the weekend that my friend, Erin, visited. We recreated our fun, girl-y, college days by boutique shopping in the middle of the day while everyone else was at work, reading trashy magazines, eating chocolate, and having fabulous lunches. We had the best lunch ever at Adam’s Mountain Cafe in Manitou Springs. Seriously, if you’re ever in the Springs area- just do it, go, and you won’t be disappointed.

While Erin was here, she cheered my traveling buddy, Lori, & I on during the St. Patrick’s Day 5K in downtown Colorado Springs. The race didn’t start until 10 AM- hells yeah!

Me & Erin before the race. Loved all the green! Green is my signature cu-llah (name that movie!).

Action shot by Erin!

Post-race brunch at The Olive Branch. I had an amazing strawberry smoothie to match my (still) pink face. Then we had to drive Erin straight to the airport to fly home to New Orleans. Miss her already!

Since the weather has been so nice, we’ve been trying to get in as much hiking as possible. One of the places we’ve heard about is Helen Hunt Falls (NOT named for the actress- I’m not a fan!), named for a writer & activist. It was gorgeous, but unbelievably still icy! The increase in elevation from Colorado Springs for many hikes= colder temperatures, ice, & snow- of course I always forget about this factor when dressing since it was such a non-issue growing up in Louisiana.

Iced over Falls

Love this picture Lori took while we were rested, even though Miss Kerbey was too cool to be seen with us.

I have a little less than 3 weeks left in this rotation! I’m going to be sad to leave, but excited to check out California! I’m not 100% sure on where I’ll be next, but I’ve been doing phone interviews & one in particular is promising! If it works out, I owe a lot to my recruiter, Kim, and my staffing company, Reflectx Staffing. They have been able to find me great assignments in unbelievable locations! “I love it when a plan comes together.” ( What TV show/movie??)

 

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

5 responses »

  1. “A”team was the show, Face and Mr. T can’t wait to see some of these great natural wonders!

    Reply
  2. You look like a coloradian in that last shot! Love it! See you in a week and a half! yeah~

    Reply
  3. Nanette Johnson

    Didn’t see the movies or shows referenced in the other comments, but I know the phrase “signatuh cullah” from Shelby in Steel Magnolias” 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

