RSS Feed

Homesick


This is the first Mardi Gras that my husband and I have spent outside of Louisiana. It’s also the first time I’ve been homesick while on this traveling adventure. My husband misses the King Cake, I miss the huge parades with friends & time to kick back and relax! Back home in Louisiana, we used to get 3-5 days off of school for Mardi Gras, when I was in college in New Orleans, it was the whole week!

We found out that a local town here in CO has their own Mardi Gras celebration so we decided to drive on over to Manitou Springs to check it out. I give them an A for effort, but it did not fulfill our wishes for King Cake OR big parades! I have dubbed it “A Hippie’s Mardi Gras”.

There was a walking parade, that was open to all pedestrians.

Manitou is known for its creative energy, so the parade was a showcase of  costumes.

Some of the parade walkers threw candy, a few threw beads, but most of them looked lost- I took it upon myself to shout “Happy Mardi Gras” as loud as possible while dancing to music in my head just to show them how it’s done. That’s another thing that makes me homesick- the music! We did get to hear “Mardi Gras Mambo” by a decent band after the parade for only $1 cover.

So here it is Lundi Gras and I’m wishing that I was trudging around in my galoshes on the streetcar line with a super-sized Hurricane in my hand. I guess I’ll have to settle for my BFF from NOLA coming to visit in 2 days!!!! 🙂

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

