RSS Feed

Beer & The Bitter Cold


Last weekend we attended the Winter Brewfest in Denver. It was a good time!

Before moving to Colorado, we had heard about all the microbreweries and great beer. We put attending a beer festival on our “to do list”. There was definitely an eclectic mix of brews here, with several choices from each brewery. Chad trended toward the dark ales and I chose more pale ales or wheat beer. Out of all that we tasted, Chad’s favorite was the Moose Drool from Big Sky Brewing in Montana and I liked the Colorado Native, which is made with ingredients all found in the state of CO. Good Stuff!

This is the food truck that saved my life. Basic Kneads offers wood-fired pizza that is amazing! They use organic flour in their dough and the veggie margherita pizza was superb. It was perfect on a stomach full of barley and hops! If you’re in the Denver area you should try it out.

 

Since last weekend, the bitter cold has descended upon us! We’re talking negative temperatures, but luckily not too much snow. It’s been an inside kind of week, with the exception of our apartment building’s fire alarm going off at 3 AM for about an hour with a temp of -12. Boooo!

The sad part of my week is that my traveler BFF left for her rotation in California, :(. Miss you, Lisa!

(she was being an honorary Saints Fan with us, but her loyalty lies with the Buffalo Bills & Tim Tebow since she’s a Gator!)

The best thing that’s happened all week is that my good friend from OT school who is also a traveler came to Colorado Springs to work with me!!! Her name is Lori & she even brought her dog, A.C., so that Kerbey could have a friend. We can’t wait to show her around Colorado & have some new adventures!

Look at sweet A.C. mugging for the camera. Poor Kerbs, that’s just her face, she can’t change it.

So, it’s been a rollercoaster week. I hope everyone is staying warm out there!

 

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

3 responses »

  1. Poor Kerbs… that’s just her face?
    Ah, you always make me laugh!
    Thank you!!

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth Delaney

    Colin has some Moose Drool in the fridge : ) He and Chad would be proud to bond over that. I hope you guys are staying warm. It’s been a stay-at-home week here, too – but nothing like that.

    Reply
  3. Courtney DesOrmeaux

    I’m so glad Kerbey has a new friend! Just in time to celebrate her birthday. It’s this month isn’t it? David and I are feeling so sorry for you guys about the fire alarm at 3am…not fun! 😦 Hoping for warmer days for you guys!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

