RSS Feed

Sunday Driver


Since we started this traveling journey, we have been a one-car family. It’s been a little adjustment, but in the grand scheme of the traveling lifestyle, it’s certainly not the hardest part. This is our car all loaded up for one of our epic driving adventures:

Making it work with one car takes some planning, but we have been lucky that public transportation is very close to our apartment. The hospital where I am working has an overflow shuttle lot that it 1.5 blocks from our apartment. This is the number one reason why we chose this apartment. This is very convenient for us, so I just drive there in the AM to catch the shuttle,  Chad walks the dog and picks up the car later so that he can drive to work, then I usually walk home in the PM (or sometimes I get a ride).

I actually love public transportation. I like being able to drink my coffee while someone else worries about the roads. I love that if it’s snowing I only have to drive through 2 stop signs and then it’s someone else’s responsibility to get me to work. I don’t even mind the walk home after work, even with cold weather. I’m inside all day, so it’s nice to be out in the elements for 10-15 minutes just to feel awake, moving, and in touch. I like feeling that I’m making less of an impact when I’m walking.

There are several downsides to being a one-car family, like having to plan ahead,  being at the mercy of someone else’s schedule, and basically lots of waiting. However the biggest downside is that I never really drive anymore, so when I do- I’m a total MawMaw behind the wheel! I could drive more when we are going places together, but really the Husband is a much better parallel parker. Today, I was driving around finishing Christmas shopping and it was so nice; I had the window down, the music up and just driving along. I look in my rear view mirror and notice a line of cars behind me, look down and I’m only going 25 mph. I think I’ve been averaging driving maybe once a week (excluding the couple blocks to the shuttle in the AM). So, I’ll try to limit that to Sunday mornings so that I can fit in with everyone else on the road!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

