RSS Feed

Disconnect


For me, one of the perks of traveling has been that it forces me to live with less and to think before purchasing new items. I definitely have lost that feeling of “want” for material things, which has helped to simplify my life in a tangible way. Now I feel the need to streamline the cognitive clutter.

I’ve noticed an increase in internet and computer usage since we started traveling. There are several reasons for this increase: stay connected with  family & friends, more free time, lack of television or DVD player, winter weather & early darkness. I hate that hours go by without other human interaction. I am definitely guilty of getting sucked in, and the computer is definitely a time suck. I thought I was doing good by living without a TV, but our computers have just replaced it.

So I proposed one night a week disconnected, without turning on a computer. No TV, no movies, no email or facebook on Wednesdays. I just want to get back to the basics. Last week was our first Wednesday, so we’ll see how it goes. I want to get away from electronic media for one night a week and do whatever it was we did before the internet. Remember that?  We are plugged in all the time, even on a hike-I have my email notification going off.  I want to practice how to “just be”, without checking in to see what I missed all the time.

So, I see card games, lengthy dining experiences, and probably going to bed early in our future for Wednesdays-but hopefully it’s also a learning experience.

Oh, here’s pictures from our last hike in Red Rock Canyon Open Space:View of Garden of the Gods from Red Rock

Red Rock Canyon Open Space, Colorado Springs

Also just watched another great documentary, 180* South. It’s about a couple of real nomads on an adventure, and they don’t check their email the entire trip! 🙂


 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

