RSS Feed

Suddenly December


It’s been a busy couple of weeks! We’ve had a whirlwind of house guests, holidays, snow, and now December is here! My husband’s brother, Ben, came to visit for the week of Thanksgiving- it was a week of snowboarding, skateboarding and hanging out. We went skiing/snowboarding for Thanksgiving Day (brilliant idea-the slopes were empty from about 11 am through the rest of the day, plus I didn’t have to feel pressured to make a tofurky, I mean turkey). By the end of the day, Ben looked like a CO native. Actually, I did too, but only when I was standing still! 🙂

The lift was only scary the first time, and I am proud to say that the elevation did not hinder my performance, like ahem, some people. I am now a level 4 skier, not that it means anything to me, because I will likely never shove my feet into ski boots again. Ladies- make sure you get the right size boot, my shins are still feel bruised! I think next time I’ll try boarding, the boots look like normal snow boots.

 

After a full day of skiing, I was exhausted! We were very fortunate that my very generous friend (& fellow traveling OT), Lisa, invited us to her & her roommates house to celebrate Thanksgiving! She provided all the food, we were in charge of wine since we headed to her house directly from the mountain. Thanks again, Lisa!

It was a perfect Traveler’s Thanksgiving-meeting new people and sharing food and stories!

The week after Thanksgiving, Colorado Springs got its first decent snow fall! It was Kerbey’s first time to see snow! She mostly sniffed it, snorted, and ran around.

The snow made it feel Christmas-y. I’ve found that I do miss some of my stuff when it comes time to decorate for the holidays. I restrained myself and did not buy one single cute fall decoration, not even the ones covered in glitter. I was telling my co-workers about my nostalgia for Christmas decorations,when my awesome PT partner, Arlette, offered to let me borrow one of her Christmas trees! It’s perfect- 4 feet high and pre-lit, and she even brought me a box full of ornaments for it!  She is so thoughtful. I didn’t realize how much a Christmas tree meant to me until now! I love the soft white lights and shiny ornaments, it’s such a simple thing that makes me so happy!I am so lucky to have such thoughtful, generous people as co-workers and friends here! They are one of the reasons that we have decided to extend my contract here in Colorado Springs for an extra 3 months! We will be here through the first week of April, then possibly off to California!

 

 

 

 

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

4 responses »

  1. I love the pic of your dog with the tree. So cute! My husband and I are probably going to have our first Christmas tree ever this year. I’m really excited!

    Reply
  2. Mary,
    You guys look like professional snow people! I have lived in snow for oh, 6 years or so now and still don’t think I have it down!
    I agree on the Christmas decoration. With cold weather, a bright lit home is just what you need to warm your mood and keep up the cheer!
    Can’t wait to take on the slopes with you and our husbands!

    Reply
  3. Very nice text & pictures, thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

