RSS Feed

Banana Sandwich


So I’m not the world’s best cook. I’m not a food photographer. But I did make an amazing grilled banana sandwich tonight! Thanks to one of my favorite bloggers, Caitlin, at Healthy Tipping Point, for posting some amazing recipes. I’ve been wanting to try her grilled banana sandwich for a while, and then she added an autumn version. It was my chance to finally try pumpkin!

Being a newer vegetarian, I try to keep an open mind regarding fruits and vegetables. I have never liked pumpkin, so I thought I’d try again. I did have to look up whether pumpkin was a fruit or vegetable. The answer is: it’s actually both- scientifically it’s a fruit because it has seeds, but culinary minds have labeled it a vegetable.

To see a better picture, go here. Don’t judge on the boring red plates. Fun dishes did not make the cut, in fact we didn’t bring any dishes with us- we bought these cheap and will likely donate them before we head to our next location.

The recipe is basically whole wheat french toast with grilled banana. I changed the recipe a little and added nutmeg to the pumpkin, along with granola and dried cranberries for texture. I think the texture of pumpkin is why I’ve never liked it. I decided I like pumpkin if it has some crunch, otherwise it tastes like baby food. The banana sandwich was perfect, it will definitely satisfy a sweet tooth! This could be easily modified into a dessert, and would look party-ready if deconstructed! YUM!

Perfect ending to a great day with slightly warmer weather & an afternoon trip to the dog park!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

2 responses »

  1. Iguess you eat it with a fork??? Looks tasty! I would add pecans!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Dinner for Two: $40 » Get your daily Groupon deals

Leave a Reply

