RSS Feed

I Heart Fall


The weather in Colorado Springs has been amazing this past week! I’ve talked to quite a few people who say it usually snows for Halloween, and I’m glad that it held out this year. I’m not quite ready for winter.

This past weekend, we enjoyed coffin racing in Manitou Springs. The coffin races are in memorial of Emma Crawford, who died of TB and was buried and re-buried several times. The story goes that erosion unearthed her and her coffin slide down a 7,200 foot slope, hence the coffin races. The Wizard of Oz, it’s hard to tell in this picture, but their make-up was amazing and they even included the flying monkey!

Das Boot and St. Pauly’s girls and guys, they stopped during the race to chug a beer.

There was also a hearse parade. Note the fire erupting off the hood! One hearse was Ghostbuster’s themed and another was a monster truck hearse!Kerbey was so good with the crowds, she let just about everyone pet her and made a few puppy friends.

We had a busy weekend with Halloween and then the Saints’ game on Sunday night. We’ve been watching them at a local restaurant and bar called Oscar’s which serves oyster poboys and gumbo, just like back home. It was great to watch the Saints win with a big group of rowdy fans!

This weekend is my birthday, and my husband brought home a present every day this week for “Mary’s birthday week, yay!” Yesterday was flowers and today it was a Camelbak! I cannot wait to bring it hiking with me this weekend! My lovely friend from New Orleans is coming to visit this weekend, and I’ve promised hiking, wine, and coffee shops! What a fun week! Happy Fall!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

One response »

  1. Yeah! The thirties are great! Enjoy every bit of every day! Hugs and kisses to you all!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

