RSS Feed

Appalachian Trail


Now that we are in a more rural setting and so close to the mountains, we really wanted to get our hiking on! We decided to hike part of the Appalachian Trail (AT), because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do, it is so close to where we are staying, and it has one of best views in Pennsylvania at The Pinnacle on top of Blue Mountain. The weather was perfect, 50 degrees in the morning and warmed up to around 75. I was so excited to start our hike!

I was also a little nervous because there were groups of people in the parking area with hiking poles and huge packs. I mean, we’re just a couple of Louisianans we don’t know  about elevation!  I did some research, so I knew to expect 3 different trails to the Pinnacle with varied difficulty and length, and we packed accordingly. Turns out you don’t need huge packs or fancy hiking stuff to make it to the top- just willing feet and maybe a 50 lb boxer pulling you up!The trail we chose ran along a valley, which made it nice and shaded for most of the way. The trail was about 8.5 miles roundtrip, parts of it were higher difficulty and pretty “craggy”. Kerbey had fun trying to negotiate the large rocks.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pulpit rock is on the way to the Pinnacle, it’s also a beautiful view and a perfect place for lunch or a snack. We had PB & J and granola bars. Kerbey had water and a place to lay down for a while. I actually made her lay down because I was just a little nervous with her dancing around and doing her wiggle-butt thing so close to the edge.

 

 

She looks just a little tired! Ha!

This is when someone told us the “hard” part was over. The uphill was over, but there were still plenty of huge rocks to climb. About 1.5 miles after Pulpit Rock, we finally reached the Pinnacle.

The way back down was a piece of cake. Not only because we were going downhill, but we chose a different trail that had a nice, wide, gravel path. That left us energy for yoga in the woods.

I’ll spare you my husband’s pose, let’s just say it’s not something you’d see at your local yoga studio.

We had so much fun hiking, we completely wore out the Kerbison, and got to see some absolutely amazing views, all while getting in a workout. Hiking to the Pinnacle was a perfect prep hike for our next location, Colorado Springs!

Now I’m eating cookie dough ice cream (PA has the best local ice creams, I’m just sayin’) and I’m about to go soak these tired muscles!

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

3 responses »

  1. Congrats on your long hike! Way to earn the view.
    Miss you lots and its great to see what you are up to even so far away now!

    Reply
  2. I’ll bet you were nervous about Kerbey near those ledges, just like you were about yer old momma clambering alone the trail to the falls. Glad to see you had a leash. Beautiful views!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

