RSS Feed

Detour from the West


For the next 3 weeks we are taking a detour from our original plan to head out West.  We are heading out to the fringes of Pa Dutch Country, just North of Reading, PA. In the past 48 hours, I have completed a phone interview, secured a job for the next 3 weeks, and secured a vacation rental for housing. Whew! Have you heard of “hurry up and wait”? Well, this traveling gig is more like “wait, wait, wait; now hurry up!”  In the next 3 weeks we can look forward to the following:

Farmer’s Markets!

We’ll be living in a rural area with great produce all around! I LOVE farmer’s markets, it’s a great way to spend a Saturday morning. The chance to by local, fresh fruits and veggies is exciting to me (I know I’m lame). I’m also told that I must try Amish cooking- made from scratch!

Appalachian Trail!

We’ll be a quick 20 minute drive from the AT near The Pinnacle and Hawk Mountain. The weather should be crisp and cool; perfect for hiking!

Corn Mazes!

So, I haven’t really found a specific corn maze for us to visit, YET! But I know they are out there, and I am determined! Going through a corn maze is on my list of things to do while we are traveling, so I’m excited to get the chance!

Part of the fun of traveling is getting to see a bit of everything. We can enjoy all that the metropolitan areas have to offer, and then slow down to a more country living lifestyle. We can try out different lifestyles without making a commitment. The trade-off is that we have to be flexible. We were originally intending to head out West, specifically Colorado, but the jobs are not aligning just right for us to go there straight from here. We opted for a 3 week position, then a quick visit back home to La. before heading out West. It’s going to be a fast 6 weeks!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

Leave a Reply

