RSS Feed

“Contemporary Nomad”


Every day, someone asks me about traveling-what? why? how?

Suitcases

What? I’m a traveling occupational therapist. If you know someone in the traveling nursing field, it’s basically the same thing. Occupational therapy is a part of physical rehabilitation that works closely with physical and speech therapy in a variety of settings including hospitals, nursing homes, school systems, clinics, and even corporations. If you want to know more, email me (I could go on forever).

Why? My husband and I wanted to be able to see the country for a few years before we decided on settling down. At the beginning of our marriage, we had a health scare that taught us to live for today and do it now, instead of waiting for the perfect timing. We thought the idea of traveling around the country without a permanent spot sounded like a great idea for a couple of years, who gets to do that and still have a job and housing? The main answer for the question, “why?”, became “why not?”.

How? We tried for a while to sell our house in this suffering market, but we were not successful. Luckily, we found an awesome renter who is also a friend that wanted to rent our house for several years. We sold a majority of our things, put the rest in storage and packed up whatever fit in our car. Most rotations are only 3 months at a certain location-although they can be longer or shorter. A majority of our bills are covered by travel reimbursement and the traveling staffing company helps us find housing.

The traveling lifestyle is not always easy and sometimes it drives me crazy! We have to be super flexible with where we are headed next and when. Just because we want a job in a specific city doesn’t mean that one will be open when I need it.  There is always the danger of having to take too much time off to wait for the job we want, or having to be rushed to get to the next location. Normally we do not know where we will be headed until about 2-3 weeks prior the start of the job. I’m finishing up working at our current location in Erie, PA on Sept 10th, and we still are unsure of where we are headed next!

So I’m trying to embrace my nomadic roots in this planny-plannerson society where success is often measured in milestones. I’m definitely getting better at just “going with the flow” and knowing “whatever happens is meant to be”!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

3 responses »

  1. Way to go! Carpe Deim! There is always plan B even if you have not made it up yet!

    Reply
  2. It sounds like a fabulous opportunity to me! I want to travel more but I would have to leave my house to do it and I have a few too many small children at this point of my life. Give me a few more years and I will join you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

