RSS Feed

Buffering…..


My new favorite thing:

Netflix

I LOVE NETFLIX!

Why did it take us so long? Actually I know why it took so long: I don’t LOVE movies (gasp!) I know, I know-what kind of boring, fun-sucking person am I? I mean, movies are ok. At times, it feels like a waste of 2 hours when I could be doing something more productive. Our movie collection (20 dvds, only 4 were mine) did not make the cut for our traveling lifestyle, so enter Netflix (thanks to my husband).

So why is Netflix my new favorite thing? Solely for one reason: documentaries! For some reason, I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time watching a documentary. Maybe because many of them are books and watching them will take less time than reading? Here are two documentaries that are worth your time (even if you read the book!):

The Botany Desire with Michael Pollan

The documentary (book) looks at four plants: apples, tulips, marijuana, and potatoes from a very different point of view. Pollan has the insight to look into the history of these plants in a way that demonstrates how each plant has seduced the human race into propagating them. Pollan flips the egocentric idea that plants are working for us and instead finds how they have evolved in order to be more desirable. The more desirable a plant, the more it appeals to our genetic or societal ideals, then the more likely we will help that plant to thrive. This documentary covers it all: genetics, history, society, science, and answers questions that I had not thought to ask.

No Impact Man: The Documentary

Love him or hate him, Colin Beavan put together an interesting challenge that translated very well to film.  He has decided to take one year and apply every reduce, reuse, recycle principle (and then some) in order to live “no impact”. His documentary webpage describes the rules of his no impact year:


“It means eating vegetarian, buying only local food, and turning off the refrigerator. It also means no elevators, no television, no cars, busses, or airplanes, no toxic cleaning products, no electricity, no material consumption, and no garbage”

What I loved about this movie (other than the fact its straight up reality TV-which is not at all a waste of time 🙂 ) is that his wife was not 100% on board with all of the rules, but she went along with all the craziness and ended up enjoying the transformation to a “less is more” philosophy. His wife, Michelle Conlin, represents the average woman and their place in this consumer society. Her presence in this documentary made it real and watchable.

Since we are changing location every 3 months, we elected to pay for the “watch instantly” membership for $9.99/month.  It allows us to watch movies without having to worry about updating an address to have movies sent to us. The watch instantly movies are a limited selection, but they are streamed instantly to your computer and can be paused and resumed at any time without keeping the window open. Our membership also allows one movie at a time to be sent to your home, although it’s unlikely we’ll use this option.

disclaimer: Netflix has not paid for this blog post/advertisement in any way.

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

2 responses »

  1. is it just me, or does the fact that “pollan” wrote about propogating plants strike you as humorous??? 😉 made me giggle. i hope it’s his real name.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

