RSS Feed

5 years Ago


Does everyone have a Hurricane Katrina memory? Is it like hearing that JFK was shot (or so I was told since I wasn’t around for that)?

Hurricane Katrina in the Gulf of Mexico near i...

Image via Wikipedia

Maybe it’s just me because I was living in New Orleans when it happened. I am not from the New Orleans area, but I was proud to live there during my secondary education. When I think of that weekend, that time in my life, all I can do is sigh… it was rough.  My story is not as sad or dramatic as most, more complicated than some, and unique to me. I will only say this: upon returning to the city on October 2nd, 2005, the streets and neighborhoods looked like a war-torn country. Empty buses covered in debris were parked in the middle of what used to be a busy boulevard, small fishing boats were stranded in front yards, and a smell of rot and decay was in the air. This is a scene that I will never forget.

“Let us not look back in anger, nor forward in fear, but around in awareness.”
James Thurber

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

One response »

  1. I have tons of awful memories from that hurricane! all my family lives in NOLA and i grew up in and my parents still live in mandeville (we had a LOT of wind damage) all my aunts, uncles, grandparents, etc. had water in or lost their homes. so sad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

