RSS Feed

Through the Woods


The first thing that we do when we move to a new place is explore the hiking/biking trails.  We especially look for trails that are dog friendly and allow off leash running. Our favorite trail in Northern PA is in Asbury Park. The Asbury Park trail (in NW PA) is part of a larger trail system that includes creeks and mountain biking trails.  I love that it’s covered in mulch and wooden board walks that help control the mud.  We found some interesting trees, as well:

This guy was holding on for dear life! Ha! The best part of this hike is the creek         (people up here say “crick”).

Kerbey LOVES the creek. She did not anticipate the algae on the rocks, and bit it a couple of times. No worries, she’s fine now.

We love that the park is never very crowded, even though it’s such a beautiful, peaceful place.  It’s a great escape during the work week. We also love to mountain bike there, which is perfect for me since I’m just now getting comfortable on the bike trails.

Where is your favorite place to escape the city? How do you escape the daily grind?

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

3 responses »

  1. I’m jealous that you have this nearby! I do have some huge grassy hills down the street that are great for some peaceful trail running, along with a park and beach but you can still see the city and it can get kinda crowded. What an oasis you have!

    Reply
  2. We spend almost every weekend at the camp. It’s nice getting away from the tv and phone. it’s great with two kids. They seem so much quieter when they are outside and their voices are not echoing off 4 walls. I am loving your blog. I’m so glad Jessica commented about it on face book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

