RSS Feed

At Last


There is one thing that I have been missing since we started out on the road…

Green Monsters !!!

Green Monsters (GM) are smoothies with veggies added, usually spinach or kale, to make them green!  You can find more info and recipe ideas here: www.greenmonstermovement.com . The movement was started by healthy living blogger, Angela, at Oh She Glows.

I was seriously missing the GMs! I had sold my blender at the last yard sale we had before we left home and without it, our lives devastatingly smoothie-less. When we packed up all of our things, I gave myself one medium-sized box for kitchen ware. If it didn’t fit in the box, it wasn’t coming with us. My favorite mixing bowl, 3 very sharp, good knives, and a deep skillet/saucepan made the trip and I was happy. Then I started craving spinach, so I put it on pizza, made salads, spinach lasagna, but nothing filled the hole of the Green Monster. So I broke down and bought the smallest blender I could find:

The Magic Bullet

I plan on giving away the 4 “party cups” to Goodwill or if anyone out there wants them. I’m not sure which kitchen item will get voted out of the “kitchen box” to make room for this blender, but I have 3 more weeks to think about it before we pack up again.

Here’s what I put in my GM:

Fresh strawberries
Frozen Mango
Fresh Spinach leaves
Soy Milk
Plain or Vanilla Greek Yogurt


I’ve tried using all frozen fruit and veggies before, but it just doesn’t have as much flavor. I used to think I hated spinach because the only way I had ever tried it was frozen or canned, fresh spinach is so much better. In this smoothie, I don’t even taste the spinach, but I’m glad it’s in there! You can get your 5 servings of fruits and veggies with just one drink!

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

2 responses »

  1. Wow, you’re GM looks very interesting. I might have to try it. Do you put any ice?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

