RSS Feed

TSL Weekend Edition


I live for weekends. Now that we are traveling every 3 months, our weekends are jam-packed. We are trying to experience all this area has to offer since we don’t know when/if we’ll be back in this part of the country (Northwestern PA). We have definitely enjoyed the summer festivals and fairs here.Thursday night we went to a local street fair celebrating food & art. The food was just ok, but the weather made up for it. It’s so nice and cool in the evenings here- nothing like the humidity we’re used to in La.

Saturday we headed to Cleveland, OH to visit the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.

 

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at sunset; Clevelan...

Image via Wikipedia

Trabant cars from U2's Zoo TV Tour hanging in ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cameras were not allowed 😦 .  The exhibits were interesting and I liked looking at John Lennon’s piano and Stevie Nicks’ stage costumes, but the place was packed and I could have done without all of the bottle-necking to see the exhibits. The Cleveland Browns also had a pre-season home game in that same area, it was impressive to see the hard-core fans tailgating in the rain!

 

Today we visited the Crawford County Fair, to pet some livestock! A friend of mine from work, Debbie, invited us to come pet her dairy cows. They were so sweet!

 

My favorite, Lacey
Ashlyn the Dairy Cow, Debbie, and Me

 

I really, really wanted to milk them, but milking time wasn’t until 7pm and I had already missed the morning session. I learned a lot about dairy cows today- they have to be milked twice a day, they produce milk for about 9 months after having a calf and it takes only 5 minutes to milk by machine versus close to an hour by hand. My friend Debbie has a small family farm that keeps their dairy cows longer than industrial farms. She told us that most industrial farms use up the cow’s milk by the time they are only 2.5 years and then sell them for their meat. 1/2 the meat you find in the store is from dairy cows.

 

 

After petting the moo cows, we set up photo shoots with the other animals:

Miss Piggy
Getting her hair “did”- She was NOT happy

 

Hello, little guy!

 

 

 

 

 

Miniature Horse

Whew! Busy weekend, but so much fun! It is important for me to balance the exploring with down time on the weekends. We saw the movie, The Switch, with Jennifer Anniston and Jason Bateman on Friday night. I give it a “Go” rating, it was a cute movie and we both laughed out loud a couple of times. I also took a nap to recharge today. I usually feel guilty napping, that I’m wasting the day, especially since time is short in each location, but today I feel like I earned it!

What would you do if you only had 3 months to live in your town? What day trips would you take if you were not going to live in that area again? What are the must-sees of your town?

 

About Mary @ Travel Sized Living

I'm a traveler by nature; I love to explore and I get a rush from being in new places. Luckily, I found a job that allows me and my family to change locations every 3 months! Our new challenge is to keep moving on while maintaining a healthy lifestyle!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: In Summary, « Travel Sized Living

  2. Pingback: In Summary, « Travel Sized Living

Leave a Reply

